DSC_4992

Bend, Oregon and Cascade Lakes

For Memorial Day I took a trip over to central Oregon with my mom and brother. Central Oregon is mountainous, high-desert country that makes for gorgeous scenery. On Saturday morning we drove the Cascade Lakes Highway (really a two lane road) which has some great spots to stop and photograph the mountains. The snow covered conical peak you see in these photos is Mt. Bachelor. Today’s set up is my Nikon D40 w/ 18-70mm lens. I had fully intended to shoot only film for the weekend, but my N80 is experiencing some technical difficulties at the moment and I’m still working through the first roll of my Canonet 28 (want to make sure it’s exposing properly before I use it more exclusively).

DSC_4995

Mt. Bachelor is home to one of the biggest ski areas in North America. What’s cool though is that it’s day use only. There are no upscale developments or residential areas to spoil the nature. It gives the place a much more rugged feel.

 

DSC_4987

I can’t decide whether I like the black and white better, or color. They both work but have such different looks. The big fluffy clouds are what really make these pictures though.

 

DSC_4992

I took this photo one evening near the cabin where we were staying. The clear skies and high clouds provided some incredible sunsets.
DSC_4958

DSC_4966

The Cascade Lakes Highway.
DSC_4977

Thanks for stopping by today!
Chris

One thought on “Bend, Oregon and Cascade Lakes

Leave a Reply

