Rural Wisconsin

This year for Thanksgiving, my family converged on my grandparents’ farm outside of Janesville, Wisconsin. Janesville is a not quite a city, but a little bit too big to be a town. The old downtown is situated on the Rock River which is really pleasant. Recently Janesville was in the news for being the home of vice-presidential candidate Paul Ryan. Much more interestingly it was the home to a large Parker Pen factory that my grandfather managed I always enjoy going back to my grandparents’ farm and seeing them. It’s nice getting away from city life. My grandma grew up in a house just down the road from the farm so she’s literally lived there her whole life which is so interesting. There’s something really relaxing about being in the countryside. I definitely think that when I retire someday, it will be in rural area. Lots of great opportunities for photography!

Meeting up with my family also meant getting to use some of my mom’s lenses. Most of these were taken on a Nikkor 50mm 1.8

The shuttle van dropped me off at LAX painfully early. On the bright side the lighting was excellent! This was the first time I’d flown American Airlines in a while and I was happy with their service, although the seats were a bit cramped.
DSC_3634
My Grandparents’ mailbox.
DSC_3645
The area around the farm was formed by glaciers, so there’s lots of rolling hills.
DSC_3647
Took a ton of pictures of this birdhouse. I really like the selective focus that the 1.8 lens offers.
DSC_3658

DSC_3660 DSC_3663 DSC_3666 DSC_3669 DSC_3670 DSC_3673 DSC_3676 DSC_3677 DSC_3703 DSC_3798 DSC_3809 DSC_3862 DSC_3868 DSC_3889 DSC_3892

Thanks for stopping by today!

Chris

Leave a Reply

