Still life.

Gregory Crewdson  is one of my favorite artists. He takes amazing still life type photos using elaborate lighting and an 8×10 format film camera. The end result is incredible.

This year I got a tripod from my family for Christmas and I was feeling inspired by my current home of Los Angeles to try and take some similar photos. The three you see below were all taken after dark, but I can’t wait to do some twilight/sunset shots. There are tons of locations I’ve seen while out running all over the city that I’d love photograph in this way.

For these photos I used my Nikon D40 with a 18-70mm lens on my tripod. The exposures were between 8 and 20 seconds.

DSC_4320

DSC_4306

DSC_4301

Leave a Reply

