Illumination

1240

 

When I was working in Tokyo last summer my hours were from 10:30 am to around 7pm, so many of my photos were taken either in the early morning, or at night after work. Shooting at night is difficult to say the least. You must be highly skilled with a flash, or resourceful with the available light to make it work. I like to think I fall into the second category.

This photo was taken in Omotesando which was only one stop on the Chiyoda Line past my apartment in Akasaka. I would often eat dinner there and explore with my camera afterwards. To photograph this billboard I set the exposure compensation on my camera down almost two full stops to eliminate any light besides the bright ones above the advertisement. I think the effect is really cool and works well in black and white.

Thanks for stopping by today!

Chris

 

Leave a Reply

