Hollywood and Vine

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

I think that photo-walks are a really good way to get to know your city. I love just walking for a few hours around an area with my camera. I did this all the time in Japan over the summer, but I haven’t had as many opportunities to do so in LA this year. The city is not the most ‘walkable’ ever, but it’s not terrible. I just haven’t had the time to get out there.

A few weeks ago I did get a chance to walk around Hollywood with my girlfriend. I’ve been to Hollywood a bunch, but I hadn’t had a chance to explore it on foot. We took the LA metro (which I think is aesthetically the worst subways system ever…more on that later) to Hollywood Blvd and Vine, and then walked up to Hollywood and Highland. Hollywood is full of interesting people and it’s definitely somewhere I’d like to do street photography. The area is also a lot more grimey than it’s portrayed by…well, Hollywood.

The sun had set completely by the time I took this second photo. I was surprised I was able to hand-hold the camera still enough that the picture came out this clear. The whole front of this tattoo shop was visually enticing but I would’ve been standing in the middle of the road to shot it. I’m still happy with the end product.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

 

Thanks for dropping by!

Chris

Leave a Reply

