La Brea Tar Pits

I rode the bus over to the Mid-Wilshire neighborhood of LA this morning, intending to visit LACMA and the Stanley Kubrick exhibit. Unfortunately, when I got there the museum was closed. 😦 Fortunately however, the La Brea Tar Pits and Page Museum are right next door 🙂 The tar pits themselves are a bit…underwhelming, but there is a very nice park and Mid-Wilshire is a cool area to hang out in and have lunch. I brought along my Canonet 28 and also took some photos using the Camera Plus app with my iPhone 4. 

The Page Museum is sort of built into a hill and there’s a neat lattice structure on the roof which made for some interesting shadows. I also took this on HP5 film. I’m curious to compare the two photos when I get the roll developed. 

museum

 

These purple trees are in bloom all over LA. This city can be surprisingly beautiful at times. 

 

purple tree

 

The Camera Plus app is great, but it loses sharpness at even the slightest zoom. Not terrible though, especially for a phone. 

 

dragon fly

 

Enjoying the park 🙂

 

shoes

 

And finally…I snapped this while waiting for a bus and used the built in tilt-shift effect from the app. Rather cruddy, but again, not terrible for a camera phone. 

downtown LA

 

Stay tuned for my film shots!

Chris 

Leave a Reply

